Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:34 p.m. - Saturday, Aug. 30, 2008
A damaged psyche
Most of you here probably have me all figured out. You are more than likely aware that I like to play the part of the embittered, callus, distanced-from-the-world, cold-hearted, and bastardly cynic. It works for me. People who come in and out of my life tend to think nothing phases me and I like it that way.

But really.... you know the secret. You know, you know. Deep inside the deepest darkest corners of my cluttered and hidden mind, down at the very bottom of my cracked and raggedly taped together heart, I'm such a freakin' softie. The smallest kindness, the tiniest act of thoughfulness just about reduces me to tears because really? Really? People are all full of kindness and light, the world is a soft pink fuzzy rainbow of love and laughter and all the hurts in life can be healed with a hug and a laugh with good friends. It's all just wonderful!!

Proven once again, yesterday. Let me set the scene:

I set my friend Juan Pedro up with a girl I sort of randomly (in a not-so-much-just-met-way) barely know. She seemed nice, she's gorgeous, and she makes me laugh. Naturally... because I am that good... they hit it off.

Yesterday afternoon, Juan Pedro texts me asking for the number of a florist. I send him the name, number and location of one, and he replies asking if he can have some delivered to the salon for BarelyKnowGirl to pick up. He wanted to tell her to come get a surprise. I responded that it would be fine, of course.

He demanded I not read the card. And he texted every 15 minutes asking if they'd gotten there yet. I teased him mercilessly until the delivery lady came. With two bouquets. One labeled BarelyKnowGirl (really, it was her name, not that title), and one labeled "Becca & Heather". START the tears.

Awwwwwwww!!!!

The card read: "I love you guys!" and the flowers are BEAUTIFUL and Becca and I just melted cause that's so sweet and no one ever gets us flowers just because except that once when Gene came back from the gas station with a single red rose and handed it to me with a smile and why the hell did I just bring THAT up????

dangit...

Anywhoodoodles. Juan Pedro is my soft pink fuzzy rainbow filled with love and laughter. *sniffle*

~H~

Juan Pedro fresh from work:

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!