Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:49 a.m. - Wednesday, Oct. 07, 2015
New Adventures of Hcatty: Coming soon to a network near you!
Hey, I don't work at a gas station anymore!

I know, I know. Crazy, right? For a short time, (we'll say 10 months) I was working at my lovely gas station and at a retail clothing store as well. Seven days a week, 10-12 hours a day. Pretty sure I was absent for months 7 thru 15 of my daughter's life.

When I walked into her bedroom one day and saw a complete stranger sleeping in her crib, I made the decision to move back in with my parents, and scale back to just one job. Sure, the freedom of living in my own home is addictive... But missing out on my baby girl's life is no where near worth it.

Now here's the real crazy part. Instead of quitting retail, I was offered a promotion to management and a raise. So... I said goodbye to my lovely convenience store. And became the Retail Customer Service Queen.

And let me tell you, people. Retail? Makes convenience store customer service look like a joke.

...I have never disliked PEOPLE with such ferocity at any other point in my life.

Well if that wasn't enough change and transition for one year... Two weeks ago my store closed down. Knowing that it was coming for a solid two months did absolutely nothing to prod me into finding a new job. I literally waited until the week of the closing.

SO BLESSED, THOUGH!

My boss sent me to talk to another store out here that was looking for help. Went, turned in the application and scheduled an interview. Instead of interviewing me for the job, this lady says "ok, let's get your paperwork started, and as soon as the background check comes through, I'll call you to start. Will you be available by Tuesday?"

....I'm sitting there like, "....yes?"

Now I'm working in a beautiful store selling men's fine clothing (SUITS, yo!) and learning how the uppercrust lives. Just learned how to tie a tie!

I'll try to share some Stories of Awesome from the Vault of Crazy.

Ciao!
~H

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!